History of Edward Waters College Football














In 2001 Edward Waters College football returned after a 34-year hiatus. Edward Waters College is a member of the National Athletic Intercollegiate Association (NAIA) Division I. Since the program restarted it has produced a total of seven All-Americans including: Kamau Leitner (Class of 2009), NAIA Academic All-American in 2007; Aneus Stevens (Class of 2012), NAIA All-Independent Conference Defensive Player of the Year in 2008; Jonathan Johnson (Class of 2010), 2007 and 2008 NAIA All-American; and EWC Defensive Coordinator Antwan Nicholas (Class of 2007), two-time NAIA All-American.

History and Highlights of Edward Waters College Football Program

2001: EWC Football Program Resumes
2003: Inaugural Willie Gary Football Classic
2004: SEAC Conference Championship
2006: HBCU Classic Championship
2007: HBCU Classic Championship; Victory at the Willie Gary Football Classic against Shaw University (Division II); SEAC Conference Championship; Coach Kevin J. Clark named Conference Coach of the Year; Victory at the Ralph J. Bunch Classic against Savannah State University (Division I-AA)
2008: SEAC Conference Championship; Coach Kevin J. Clark named Conference Coach of the Year
2009: Trenttonio Stewart, Senior running back, selected for pre-season NAIA First Team All-Independent Team; three Edward Waters College football players recognized as NAIA Independent Players of the Week, two for the second week in a row.
2009 Post-Season: All-Independent NAIA First Team: Denton Thompson (Defensive End); All-Independent NAIA Second Team: Trenttonio Stewart (Running Back), Samuel Charles (Wide Receiver), Rudy Wilson (Linebacker), Rodriguez Owens (Linebacker), and Johnathan Johnson (Special Teams); NAIA Academic All-Americans: Scott Peters, Willie Hubbard, and Markel Scott.